Colleges & Universtities INSTITUTES

Southwest University for Nationalities (SWUN)


2015-06-15 12:00

Southwest University for Nationalities (SWUN), founded in 1950, is one of the top Chinese minority universities in the country with 56 nationalities. This reflects a broad cultural diversity including rich minority customs, the literature, etiquette, folk arts, music, dance, food, medicine etc.  SWUN has 23 colleges and over 29,000 full-time students. The three main campuses cover nearly 500 acres and are all located in Chengdu. Chengdu is the capital city of Sichuan Province and a center of culture, science, and technology.  The University library collection includes over 3,400,000 volumes providing a great resource to explore.  SWUN has 2,000 staff members, including 680 professors and associate professors.  SWUN offers 83 undergraduate majors, 110 postgraduate degrees, 7 Ph. D programs, and one Post-doctoral program.  Currently, SWUN offers 15 double majors and has 11 key research and instruction labs.  We offer many short courses and certificate programs as well as diplomas, undergraduate, postgraduate and Ph. D studies to meet your needs. We have professional experience offering special language training programs in Chinese, Tibetan, Yi, Qiang and other languages. For international students, the university offers organized field-trips to cultural sites. Our multi-cultural environment offers a place for you to experience the beauty and diversity of China.  We receive over 400 overseas students every year, and we have developed many exchange programs with universities in more than ten countries. We also has a wild research station named as “Qinghai-Tibetan Plateau Ecological Environmental Protection and Advanced Technology for Animal Husbandry” which is located in Hong-yuan County, Sichuan province.

Southwest University for Nationalities is a comprehensive university located in Southwest part of China. Our school is the only university that includes all nationalities within China, and therefore forms a base for you to explore the rich culture. The school offers cross-cultural experiences in Han and minority cultures.  Instructors are educated in western teaching methodologies and provide support and various opportunities to engage the diverse culture with additional classes and field trips.  International students are invited to participate in Chinese cultural events, language exchange, performing arts, sporting events, visiting historical sites and preparing local cuisine.  International teachers enjoy small classes so to foster effective instruction and interaction with national students. 

SWUN is a comprehensive university covering Literature, History, Philosophy, Economy, Management, Law, Education, Science, Engineering, Agriculture, Medical Science, and Arts. We have 16 subjects in Provincial Ministry-Level Key Disciplines, 6 subjects in State-Level Undergraduate Specialties with Unique Features, and 10 subjects in Provincial Undergraduate Specialties with Unique Features; 1 Post- Doctoral Mobile Research Station, 1 First-Level Discipline for Doctoral Degree Granting, and 7 subjects in Second-Level Disciplines for Doctoral Degree Granting; 17 subjects in First Level Disciplines for Master’s Degree Granting, and 10 subjects in Professional Master’s Degree Program; 11 Provincial Ministry-Level Key Labs, 3 Talent Cultivation Base, 1 Off-Campus Practice Education Base for Students of Central Affiliated University, and 5 Provincial Teaching Teams.


The scientific research academy has always strived for a higher degree of excellence. Since 2000, it has undertaken nearly 3,500 scientific research projects of different levels and different disciplines, including 230 at the state level, nearly 860 at the provincial (ministry) level, and has been awarded funds of about 300,000,000 RMB. In addition, they have published approximately 14,000 academic papers, among which nearly 800 were included in SCI, as well as published over 800 academic works and textbooks, among which over 260 have been awarded the provincial and ministry-level achievement prizes.


Colleges included:

College of Tibetan Studies,

College of Yi Minority Studies  

College of Life Science and Technology     

College of Art

College of Minority Transitional Studies   

College of Politics and Philosophy      

College of Continuing Education for Adults   

College of Sociology and Psychology  

College of Economics          

College of Management 

College of International Education 

College of Computer Science and Technology

College of Electrical and Information Engineering

College of Chemistry and Environmental Protection Engineering    

College of Urban Planning and Architecture         

College of Tourism and Historical Culture

College of Literature and Journalism   

College of Law   

College of Foreign Language and Literature    

College of Physical Education and Athletics   

Institute of Southwest Minorities Study


2015-06-15 04:59
China West Normal University (CWNU)